Tony is on the Ballot for the Hall of Fame!

October 31, 2014

The nine players on the Hall of Fame’s Golden Era Committee ballot totaled three Most Valuable Player Awards, an average of more than six All-Star Game selections per player and seven World Series titles.

And the 10th member of the ballot? Well, all he did was assemble the great Cardinals teams of the 1960s and the Big Red Machine of the 1970s.

The 16-person Golden Era Committee is ready to go to work.

“This system puts people into the context of where they belong,” said Jack O’Connell, the secretary/treasurer of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and a member of the BBWAA’s Historical Overview Committee, which crafts each year’s Eras Committee ballot. “So the voters can compare candidates against other candidates from their own time.”

The latest cycle of the Baseball Hall of Fame’s Eras Committees features candidates whose main contribution to the National Pastime came between 1947 and 1972 – the Golden Era. Established by vote of the Museum’s Board of Directors in the summer of 2010, the Eras Committees consider candidates from three timeframes: The Expansion Era (1973 and forward), the Pre-Integration Era (baseball’s origins through 1946) and the Golden Era.

Golden Era candidates were first considered in the fall of 2011, which resulted in the election of Ron Santo as a member of the Class of 2012.

The 10-person ballot for consideration by this year’s Golden Era Committee consists of Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Bob Howsam, Jim Kaat, Minnie Minoso, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce, Luis Tiant and Maury Wills.

Kaat (10 votes in 2011), Hodges (9 votes), Minoso (9 votes), Oliva (8 votes), Boyer (less than 3 votes) and Tiant (less than three votes) return to the ballot after appearing in the fall in 2011 in the first vote of the Golden Era Committee. Allen, Howsam, Pierce and Wills will be considered by the Golden Era Committee for the first time.

The 16-person Golden Era Committee, which is reconstituted each time it meets, consists of Hall of Famers Jim Bunning, Rod Carew, Pat Gillick, Ferguson Jenkins, Al Kaline, Joe Morgan, Ozzie Smith and Don Sutton; baseball executives Jim Frey, David Glass, Roland Hemond and Bob Watson; and veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Dick Kaegel, Phil Pepe and Tracy Ringolsby.

Any candidate receiving votes on 75 percent of all ballots cast will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2015 on July 26.

Hall of Fame Library)

Tony Oliva

Played 15 seasons for the Twins, winning three batting titles and leading the American League in hits five times. He was named to eight All-Star Games and won the 1964 AL Rookie of the Year Award. A .304 career hitter, Oliva’s career was shortened due to a knee injury. He totaled 220 home runs and 329 doubles, leading the AL in doubles four times. He topped the 20-home run mark in five seasons.

Previous post:

Next post: